i2m with bass / guitar pro 6

The i2M musicport™ MIDI Converter & Hi-Z USB Audio Interface

Moderators: johnmc, james

bonansinga

i2m with bass / guitar pro 6

Post by bonansinga »

Hello - just got my i2m today and have it plugged into a newish win 7 laptop, i've got both asio drivers (32 & 64) and did the latest firmware update.
So.. I'm a bass player. It's a Fender P bass (4 string, standard tuning), and I figured that I'd try the transcription function in Guitar Pro 6. Turns out that Guitar Pro only sees my G string... basically any note G and above including the 5th fret and up on the D which it transcribes as open G. I'm fine with that.

Problem is that GP is not getting / seeing anything F# and below. The box is in 5 string bass mode, and i even tried selecting 4 string bass from the desktop editor.

I see that when I hammer my E that the clip light goes red... so the box is getting signal at least.

Recognize that this isn't a GP support forum. However i am new to Midi and wanted to test the Sonus before I made an investment in Midi software.

So to my question please.

1) Does anyone know if there is a way to get GP to recognize my string input? (I suspect it's GP, based n inferring all the great Sonuus reviews).
2) To help validate (1) is there a simple software out there that can show me the i2m is in fact tracking my bass?
3) Could it actually be tracking? I tried slow and clean on the E and A strings and nothing.... Hmm.

As I'm sure you can imagine, I'm anxious to see this little marvel work.

Thanks for your time, and hello from New York.

Joe B
james
Site Admin

Re: i2m with bass / guitar pro 6

Post by james »

To monitor what's coming from the i2M, try Midi-Ox (http://www.midiox.com/). This is a great utility to let you see exactly what's going on with the MIDI from any device.