Page 1 of 1

i2M musicport ASIO vs my existing ASIO driver?

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:06 am
by charleyrich
Why would I want to install the i2M musicport ASIO driver when I have an ASIO driver specific to my soundcard? (Echo Mia)

Is there an advantage to the i2M ASIO driver or should both be installed?

Thanks,

Charley

Re: i2M musicport ASIO vs my existing ASIO driver?

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 8:21 am
by james
The i2M musicport ASIO driver allows the low-latency audio input from the i2M be used in your software at the same time as the MIDI data. Using your Echo ASIO will not let you use the i2M's audio input.

The i2M ASIO driver was designed to "chain" another device as the output. So, you can use both the i2M as an input, and your ASIO Echo driver as the audio output. Full details are in the pdf manual for the ASIO driver.

If you don't want to use the i2M's audio, and only it's MIDI capability then you don't need the i2M ASIO driver at all. You will also get lowest audio latency this way: the output chaining adds a small delay to the output you hear because it has to match the sample rates of the i2M and the other audio device.

Re: i2M musicport ASIO vs my existing ASIO driver?

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2011 2:34 am
by BDG
Hi,

Got my I2M yesterday and trying to put it through its paces. Is this ASIO driver for windows only, or also for Mac?

I've tried using the aggregate device with the I2M aggregated with my MOTU 828 mk2 (Firewire), but it comes out a huge mess when I choose the aggregated device in Cubase 5. MIDI works fine.

I could work around and use the MOTU unit for audio, but it's a pain to have to unplug the guitar from one device and into another as I change from MIDI to audio, and of course I won't be able to do simultaneous audio and MIDI performance if I do that.

Will the ASIO driver solve this problem (iMac)? Or will I lose the MOTU inputs if I use this ASIO driver?

TIA

Brian.

Re: i2M musicport ASIO vs my existing ASIO driver?

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2011 3:09 pm
by johnmc
Hi Brian,

ASIO is only a PC thing, not Mac.

What happens with the audio when you use the aggregated audio driver? We don't have an 828 here to try with. If you set the 828 to 48kHz does it make any difference?

As a quick test, can you try using garageband assuming you have it installed - this lets you choose inputs and outputs separately without an aggregate driver.

John.

Re: i2M musicport ASIO vs my existing ASIO driver?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2013 12:30 pm
by matrix123
The i2M is classcompliant.As per my opinion ASIO works with this worked only with Ableton Live and Studio One Pro. Apart from that MDI tracking is also very fast and you get ample ways to optimize performance.