Polyphonic MIDI?!

The G2M™ Universal Guitar to MIDI Converter.

Moderators: johnmc, james

joso1958

Polyphonic MIDI?!

Post by joso1958 »

I understand that the G2M is monophonic, but is sonuus planning on releasing a polyphonic guitar-to-midi converter!?!? I would buy the g2m in one second if it was polyphonic. Also, why couldn't you guys have made it polyphonic? (I actually want to know - I'm not an expert on MIDI and I'm curious as to why it couldn't be made polyphonic)

THANK YOU!
james
Site Admin

Re: Polyphonic MIDI?!

Post by james »

We can't publicly talk about products that haven't been officially released, so we can't say if we will be releasing a polyphonic version or not. I can, however, say that our technology will allow this in some form.

There are two types of polyphony and they both have problems:

(1) Using a hex-pickup to separate the output of each string so they can be processed independently. This works very well, but the physical setup of the pickup can be tricky and of course you need the special pickup.

(2) Without a special pickup the audio can be processed and chords extracted. The problem with this is that latency is increased because you need to measure the signal for more time to be able to resolve the different notes. It is also difficult to reliably detect notes which are harmonics of other notes, for example. So, although this can work reasonably well, you don't get the low-latency that most users demand, and the accuracy of note conversion may not be perfect (it might sound OK, but if you are using it to transcribe chords it could miss notes).

The above problems are some of the reasons for the G2M: keep it simple to use (no special pickups, or other configuration parameters to tweak), keep it low-cost, and ensure it has low-latency.
drg

Post by drg »