Wahoo and Midi In Pedalboard Environment

For the Wahoo™ Dual-Analogue, Digitally-Controlled Wah/Filter Pedal

Moderators: johnmc, james

benevan

Wahoo and Midi In Pedalboard Environment

Post by benevan »

I would like to use my Wahoo as part of a whole pedalboard setup, integrating midi control over the several separate effects units.

I have read through the product manuals of the Wahoo and other midi effects units I have and I think what I want to do is possible, but I have no prior experience with midi so I am not sure how it could be accomplished. Also, I assume that I would need to purchase additional equipment as the Wahoo only has midi through USB and other effects units I have use 5-pin midi.

1) Use the Wahoo footpedal as an expression pedal for an Eventide Pitchfactor or H9. The Wahoo manual indicates that expression control can be sent over midi. The Eventide factor/9 pedals can receive midi messages over 5-pin midi, so I assume that this could be accomplished?
2) Use the Tech21 Midi Mouse (or other similar device) send Program Change message over 5-pin midi to the Wahoo.

I may also add a Voluum to the pedalboard system, with similar integration in mind – primarily PC messages. The overall intent is to sync all effects – with one program change, I can set all effects as necessary rather than tap dance to change several effects for one desired tone. This also incorporates the expression pedal from the Wahoo (or possibly Voluum in the future), eliminating the need for a separate expression pedal.
james
Site Admin

Re: Wahoo and Midi In Pedalboard Environment

Post by james »

All this can be done.

You are correct that you need something else to hook up the Wahoo with 5-pin MIDI. This one from Kenton in the UK works well, but there are also other alternatives available. http://www.kentonuk.com/products/items/ ... host.shtml
benevan

Post by benevan »