i2M disappointment

The i2M musicport™ MIDI Converter & Hi-Z USB Audio Interface

Moderators: johnmc, james

Jimmy5050

i2M disappointment

Post by Jimmy5050 »

Hi, I have just received my newly purchased i2M musicport. I've set it all up correctly and just wanted to air how disappointed I am with the product. I have a brand new ibanez guitar with brand new dimarzio pickups, a dual quad core mac pro running logic pro 9 in a professional recording studio. I have found that some notes I play on the guitar play an octave higher or lower, play double notes or don't play a note at all. There seems to be no real control over this product. If I want to play a bassline with for example Native Instruments Massive, it just sounds so random which notes are played the product is unusable. I have been playing guitar for 13 years and am a more than competent player. I am comparing this product with my MIDI keyboard and there is just no comparison in playability or notes accuracy. If there seems to be a setup up issue that I have overlooked any help would be greatly appreciated before I return this product on Monday morning.

Regards
james
Site Admin

Re: i2M disappointment

Post by james »

It's possible there is a problem with your i2M, but more likely you just need to get used to how MIDI conversion works. Of course, playing a keyboard is more precise than playing guitar (one is a simple switch, the other is a complex analogue instrument).

I suggest you check out the following FAQ to help you understand why what you are seeing is happening. Most people can fix these problems in a few hours by understanding what's going on: http://www.sonuus.com/products_i2m_mp_faq.html
johnmc
Site Admin

Re: i2M disappointment

Post by johnmc »

Hi,

Can you send an example recording/MIDI file of where you see problems and we can advise?