24bit/48khz Audio Interface

The i2M musicport™ MIDI Converter & Hi-Z USB Audio Interface

Moderators: johnmc, james

Henrii

24bit/48khz Audio Interface

Post by Henrii »

Hi

This is my first time post here. My aplogy if I haven't read all the posts here.Would like to know if there's any in development for 24bit/48khz re i2M audio interface mode? Because I am looking for another portable audio interface too. if you can do 96khz that would be great.

Also I read some latency issue of the current i2M in DAW. driver issue?

And how about using i2M audio interface mode on ampsim, like Scuffham S-Gear? TH2, Revalver, Amplitube? have how about it's latency?

Thanks.
james
Site Admin

Re: 24bit/48khz Audio Interface

Post by james »

We don't have a 24-bit interface in the pipeline currently, but it's probably something we will do in the future.

The latency is due to the i2M being an input-only device (it has no audio out), so the audio output needs to be routed through another device. To do this without glitches, the audio needs to be sample-rate-converted and this process adds some latency (extra buffering is required to prevent drop-outs). Often the extra latency is low enough that it isn't noticeable, but it really depends on the output device. The latency of the i2M audio itself is very low.

The i2M works great with amp-sims. We have had lots of good reports of the nice tone of the i2M pre-amp, and how it interacts with amp sims.
Henrii

Post by Henrii »

Yeah, there's no audio out. I'll test my laptop and my external audio interface, to see that if my laptop internal soundcard is capable of this audio out without big latency or crackling.

1.) guitar > my audio interface > USB cable > laptop > speaker monitor

Or is it possible to use my external audio interface as an audio output, while the audio input is i2M?

2.) guitar > i2M > laptop > USB cable > my audio interface > speaker monitor

If all goes well on number 1.. then it is ok for number 2?